John E. Herrmann Award | Michigan District, LCMS

John E. Herrmann Award

Judith Ann Root of Immanuel Lutheran Church, Wheeler, Mich.

The Michigan District Stewardship Committee is proud to announce the selection of Judith Ann Root of Immanuel Lutheran Church in Wheeler, Mich. as the 2016 John E. Herrmann Memorial Stewardship Award winner. Judith has been a tireless worker in the Kingdom of God. Her list of stewardship work inside and outside the Church fills most of a page, and is an inspiration to all of us in the Michigan District.

               In recognition of her outstanding stewardship work, Judith was presented an award at Immanuel Lutheran Church by Rev. Dr. Richard J. Wolfram, Congregational Mission and Ministry Facilitator of the Michigan District/Stewardship. A $1,000 gift was also presented for ministry use at Immanuel in honor of Judith Root. She has also had her name engraved on a John E. Herrmann Award plaque that hangs in the Michigan District office. Judith was nominated by Linda Weburg, member of Immanuel.

               Vaughn Begick was chosen as this year’s runner-up for the Herrmann Award. Vaughn has been a great blessing to his home congregation of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Bay City, Mich. where he serves on many activities and projects and in his community.

What is the John E. Herrmann Award?

The John E. Herrmann Award was established to recognize faithful stewards in the Michigan District, and to encourage others to greater stewardship within their home churches. It is named after one of our Synod’s most influential men in the area of stewardship. His book, The Chief Steward, is available at your local bookstore.

Each year nomination forms & entry requirements for the John E. Herrmann Award will be sent to all the congregations within the Michigan District by September 1st. Each church is encouraged to submit an entry to the Stewardship Committee by the October 15th deadline. The Committee will choose an award winner in November. Notification of the award winner will take place in January, and presentation of the award will take place in the home congregation of the winner. Award winners will receive a plaque commemorating the award, and will have their names placed on the John E. Herrmann Award plaque in the Michigan District Office. In addition, a $1000 ministry grant will be given to their home church in their honor.

Informational Brochure

Previous Award Recipients

2015 - Bill Boice - St. Matthew, Spring Lake

2014 - James and Carlyn Roth - East Bethlehem, Detroit

2013 - Dorothy Schultz - Trinity, Jackson

2012 - Kenneth and Lynn Pollack - Lutheran Church of the Lakes, Addison

2011 - Randy Fairbanks - St. Paul, Hubbard Lake

2010 - Viola and Clarence Schneider - St. Thomas, Ann Arbor

2009 - Richard A. Greiner - St. Matthew, Holt

2008 - William Neddermeyer - St. Paul, Herron

2007 - Joan Walz - Immanuel, Sebewaing

2006 - Ron Chewning - Our Shepherd, Birmingham

2005 - Mary Smith - Peace, Detroit

2004 - Walter Baggleman - Our Savior, Marlette

2003 - Alicia Winget - Grace, Romeo

2002 - David & Cheryl Hughes - Our Savior, Lansing

2001 - William Woodhull Family - St. John, Rochester

Connect With Us

Contact Us

Michigan District, LCMS
3773 Geddes Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48105

Staff Listing

Contact Webmaster

Church Extension Fund

Site Links



Michigan In Touch
Lutheran Witness

LCMS Links

Lutheran Ministries
World Relief & Human Care


Copyright © 2018 Michigan District, LCMS

All rights reserved.